1 Thessalonians 5: Children of the Light

You yourselves know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a midnight robber. . . . But as for you, my dear family — you are not in darkness.  That day won’t surprise you like a robber.  (5:2, 4)

In the first part of chapter five, Paul lays out a series of contrasts:

There is a great day coming.  The new creation will soon be upon us.  When, you ask?  We do not know exactly.  Later today.  Maybe tomorrow.  Maybe long after we are gone, in the days of our children’s  children.  But we don’t need to worry about it.  Nobody in Christ needs to worry about it.

We are the wide-awake people.  We live in the light where robbers are less inclined to come.  We are not numbed to what goes on around us.  We are protected by faith, hope and love (5:8).  Though we do not know the hour, it is okay because we will have peace in that day.  We are destined for salvation, not fury.  So we can echo confidently the second last sentence of the Bible: “Come, Lord Jesus” (Revelation 22:20).

Does this describe the mindset you have?  Why or why not?

Categories: 1 Thessalonians | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “1 Thessalonians 5: Children of the Light

  1. Eddy Efaw

    Unfortunately this is not the mindset I have most of the time. I grew up in a “works’ oriented church. The implication was that you had to earn your salvation. I tend to still live out of that context. I fear the return of Christ sometimes because I fear I haven’t done enough yet. Thankfully I feel this way less often than I did 10 years ago but it still creeps in now and then.

    • I understand too well myself, and I too am glad I am seeing this change in my thinking too. That is one of the reasons I love this passage. What a great reminder of our true identity!

  2. Pingback: Bought From Shame for the Glory of His Name « tljax

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

