John 16: Sorrow into Joy

You will be overcome with sorrow, but your sorrow will turn into joy.  When a woman is giving birth she is in anguish, because her moment has come.  But when the child is born, she no longer remembers the suffering, because of the joy that a human being has been born into the world.  In the same way, you have sorrow now.  But I shall see you again, and your hearts will celebrate, and nobody will take your joy away from you. (16:20-22)

Oh man, I hope so!

All of us have sorrows that weigh us down in a heavy way.  All of us need release from something that seems to be our master.  Like Jesus’ analogy here, all of us have times when we think our “babies” will never be birthed.  I am thinking of a particular trial in my life that seems particularly unending and hopeless.  You should think of what your sorrow is too.

I cherish the reminder that joy will eclipse sorrow, that suffering will be forgotten and celebration will be the final word.  Many days I feel foolish believing that can be, in the situation I am thinking of.  But I hang on to hope, and cherish passages like this one.

How about you?

Categories: John | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “John 16: Sorrow into Joy

  1. Eddy Efaw

    Yes. I too have those things that I wish would turn to joy and long for the Day when they finally do. In this longing there is true Community.

  2. Melanie

    I hope so, too! When I’m in a situation that seems (or is) hopeless, I try to remember that I’m an alien here and things are not supposed to be easy. C.S. Lewis said, “There are far, far better things ahead than any we leave behind.” Of course, the catch is that we usually don’t get to choose when we get to leave this life and its burdens and head for that far, far better world. As long as we’re here, we should not be surprised that life is fraught with burdens, but I need to remember the hope Christ promised.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

