John 15: Fitting In

“If the world hates you,” Jesus went on, “know that it hated me before it hated you.  If you were from the world, the world would be fond of its own.  But the world hates you for a reason: that you’re not from the world.  No: I chose you out of the world.  Remember the word that I said to you: servants are not greater than their masters.  If they persecuted me, they will persecute you too.” (15:19-20)

Should we try to fit in?

If we totally fit into our world, is there a problem?  If we think and act like our non-Christian neighbors, should we be concerned?  If we are as liked by anybody we meet as anyone else, is that less than ideal?  Jesus seems to think so.

Now let me ask a few more specific and potentially uncomfortable questions and invite you to respond and ask your own questions of this sort in your comments.  Should we dress like the world?  Should our budgets, pocketbooks, and retirement plans look different?  Should our definitions of success be different?  Should we be bothered by mainstream entertainment?  Should we find it hard to embrace any particular political candidate and party completely?

But how much difference is too much and just makes us unnecessarily odd, not “persecuted”?

What do you think?

Categories: John | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “John 15: Fitting In

  1. Melanie

    I think it’s odd that Christians often seem surprised that the government doesn’t operate in a way that reflects or upholds Christianity. What Jesus says here indicates, I think, that we shouldn’t be surprised at all. We should expect to be at odds with the world. I find myself being more and more detached and uninterested in politics. I have no expectation that government officials will make godly decisions. I’m not sure if I’m taking Jesus’ words to heart or am just being cynical.

    • Your thoughts are my thoughts exactly. I know I am cynical regarding politics, but still think you are thinking straight. Frankly, I get scared when Christians want the Kingdom to come through political power. Three days before the election: I am seeing it a lot right now.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

