John 1: Who Is This Jesus?

Who is this Jesus?

That is hardly a question we ask these days.  Most people have heard of Jesus and know something about his supposed identity. However, during John’s time this most certainly would have been the question people were asking.  Given the purpose statement of the book (see the Introduction post below) we know this question was especially the one John wanted to answer in his book.

So it is no wonder that John starts his gospel with a wonderful, lyrical, slightly cryptic explanation of the nature of this Jesus whose story we will hear.  In the first fourteen verses of this first chapter we learn that Jesus is all of the following:

  • Eternal (1:1a)
  • Close in proximity to God (1:1b)
  • One in nature and identity with God (1:1c)
  • The source of all created things (1:3)
  • The source of life (1:4a)
  • The source of light in the midst of darkness (1:4b)
  • The one who brings illumination (1:9)
  • An enfleshed human being (1:10a, 14)
  • Rejected by much of the world (1:10b)
  • Authoritative (1:12)
  • The son of God (1:14a)
  • Full of grace (1:14b)
  • Full of truth (1:14b)

Jesus is the fully human, fully divine son of God who is the source of all things good.  Though all authority is his, people can still find a way to reject this Jesus.  Nonetheless, true life and light can be found in him.

What caught your eye in this chapter?

Categories: John | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “John 1: Who Is This Jesus?

  1. Pat

    Hi, Jason,

    I like your list of the things we learn about Jesus from chapter 1: 1-14. I never thought to list them like that.

    I am still reading from the Message translation. I love these words from the verse 9-13 paragraph:

    He came to his own people,
    but they didn’t want him.
    But whoever did want him,
    who believed he was who he claimed
    and would do what he said,
    He made to be their true selves,
    their child-of-God selves.
    These are the God-begotten,
    not blood-begotten,
    not flesh-begotten,
    not sex-begotten.

    It is refreshing to see the words I have read so many times stated in a new way. It causes me to examine and enlarge my understanding.

    I also like the new phrasing of these words from John the Baptizer in the verses 29-31 paragraph:

    “Here he is, God’s Passover Lamb! He forgives the sins of the world! This is the man I’ve been talking about, ‘the One who comes after me but is really ahead of me.’ I knew nothing about who he was—only this: that my task has been to get Israel ready to recognize him as the God-Revealer….”

    The God-Revealer–wow! What a description.

    Just to let you know, I have been reading your blog along. I have been too busy with my grandsons and with my local Bible studies to write. I guess I have been a “lurker,” eh? But I do love the Gospels, so expect to hear from me a few more times.

    Blessings,
    Pat

    • I was originally going to use the Message for this blog. Many days, when I see comments like these, I kind of wish I had. Peterson has such a wonderful way with words. Thank you for sharing!

      I am glad you are still here. I always appreciate and respect your comments. Sounds like you are using your time exactly right! Lurk away!

  2. “No one has ever seen God, not so much as a glimpse. This one-of-a-kind God-Expression, who exists at the very heart of the Father, has made him plain as day.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

