2 Corinthians 12: Strength Shown through Weakness

Today’s passage is as good a verse as any to declare a theme statement for 2 Corinthians.  It is also foundational to my own worldview and one I remind myself of a lot, especially when I feel unequal to the task or particularly oppressed.

A thorn was given to me in my flesh, a messenger from the satan, to keep stabbing away at me.  I prayed to the Lord three times about this, asking that it would be taken away from me, and this is what he said to me: “My grace is enough for you; my power comes to perfection in weakness.”  So I will be all the more pleased to boast of my weaknesses, so that the Messiah’s power may rest on me.  So I’m delighted when I’m weak, insulted, in difficulties, persecuted, and facing disasters, for the Messiah’s sake.  When I’m weak, you see, then I am strong. (12:7b-10)

The point is not for us to appear strong.  The point is for people to see in us a power beyond us, the power of God.  That means we have to face, admit, and acknowledge to others our weakness.  That point when we feel like we can’t go on anymore, but then there is always a little more strength for the next day — that point may be the most blessed one of all, if we are willing to face it with faith.  I pray that we will.

What verse did you see in a new way today?

Categories: 2 Corinthians | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “2 Corinthians 12: Strength Shown through Weakness

  1. Eddy Efaw

    In The Message, Peterson says that Paul was “hijacked into paradise” on the road to Damascus. I like that vision. Sometimes I feel like the Kingdom Life that God has waiting for me is what gets hijacked on a daily basis instead. : )

  2. Melanie

    The Message says Paul was given the gift of a handicap to remind him of his limitations. At first he didn’t think of it as a gift, but when he figured out that it was Christ’s strength moving in on his weakness, he accepted the handicap with cheer. Paradoxically, the weaker he was, the stronger he became.

    I have a lot of trouble thinking this way and need lots of reminders.

  3. “Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size – abuse, accidents, oppositions, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.”

    May it be true today! Lord, help me to think like this!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

