Luke 17: Only What’s Expected

That’s how it is with you.  When you’ve done everything you’re told, say this: “We’re just ordinary slaves.  All we’ve done is what we were supposed to do.” (17:10)

Yeah, I have been known to do it.  That typical male trespass.  Yes, I have jumped out of my dinner chair, rushed into the kitchen to do the dishes, only to then expect some sort of praise for my great deed.  Of course, my wife does the dishes many times a week, never to fanfare.  Of course, the dishes have never been assigned to her, as if we did that sort of thing.  So I am not doing any great thing, am I?  Yet, how easy it is to go looking for praise.

I think that same attitude is easy to have with God.  God, did you see what I just did?  Did you see how I obeyed without you even asking?  Impressed?

Why do we see obedience as an extra we do for God, not part of the job?  I need to change that way of thinking.

What hit you in this chapter?

Categories: Luke | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Luke 17: Only What’s Expected

  1. I’ve started reading Slave by John MacArthur. A bond servant. That’s what we are to be. Obedience is not an option, yet so many days I second guess the leadership of a perfect God. Gotta work on transforming my mind some more. 🙂

  2. “The apostles came up and said to the Master, ‘Give us more faith.’
    But the Master said, ‘You don’t need more faith. There is no “more” or “less” faith.”

    It sounds like Jesus is saying that the issue is not what we believe, the issue is whether we will take action on what we know at a time, allowing the faith we do have to take action. Do what we know to do. Maybe we will find faith becomes more real to us when we do.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

