Colossians 3: Changing Clothes

I grew up going to church camp in the summer. It was one of my favorite weeks (or two, if I could convince my parents to let me stay for another) of the year. When I was too old to be a camper, I became a counselor and did that until I went off to college.

Now, twenty years later, I am writing this post (a day ahead of time) from church camp again.  This is our church’s week to have camp for all kids in fourth grade and up, all 250 of them!  This is the kind of camp I could have only dreamed to attend when I was a kid.  I have a harder time keeping up with the kids each year and I am not sure why they aren’t ready for lights out at 9:30 like I am!  Still, what a great week!

Later today we will all head home, and one of the first things I will do is strip off my camp clothes, take a nice hot shower, and put on some clean clothes.  It’s not that we didn’t shower or change here at camp, I just never feel totally clean until I am at home in my shower and then in clean clothes.

Paul talked about this earthly life the same way. We are here in a set of dirty clothes (3:5-9), but it’s time to get showered and start putting on the new clothes we were really meant to wear (3:10-15).  Of course, by this metaphor he means there is a whole new set of thoughts and behaviors associated with the “new humanity” we are becoming (3:11).  By the power of the Spirit, we are getting dressed to go home.

Each of these points needs a book of it’s own, but in this chapter Paul gives us some guidance on how to change our spiritual clothes:

  • Set our minds on the spiritual not fleshly (3:1-2)
  • Strip off the old clothes instead of just trying to keep them on underneath our new clothes (3:5-9)
  • Put God’s word into our hearts and minds (3:16a)
  • Help each other become new people (3:16b)

What did you notice in this chapter?

Categories: Colossians | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Colossians 3: Changing Clothes

  1. Trent Williamson

    It was extra special to witness 13 campers, including my son, put on their new clothes last night! Now the true work of discipleship begins!! I’m sure we will be busy doing his “laundry” throughout his life, but I’m eternally grateful that THE MASTER CLEANER took care of him last night for eternity!!!

  2. Another great chapter with so much to explore. So I’ll just go with the first line that grabbed my attention. “Pursue the things over which Christ presides. Don’t shuffle along, eyes to the ground, absorbed with the things right in from of you. Look up, and be alert to what is going on around Christ – that’s where the action is.” Making life count means majoring in Christ’s kingdom, not the stuff of earth.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

