Philippians 1: God Is in Control

Many of us live lives full of anxiety and insecurity.  This only leads to a loss of joy and contentment.  In 4:11 Paul claims to have learned how to be content no matter the circumstances.

There is much to consider in Philippians and any of it would be interesting and worthwhile.  However, as we read through each chapter, I have chosen each day to concentrate on Paul’s secrets to a life of contentment and joy.

 

Paul begins his book with great confidence in the future of the Philippians:

Of this I’m convinced: the one who began a good work in you will thoroughly complete it by the day of King Jesus. (1:6)

He has also been able to see how God has used his imprisonment to “help the gospel on it’s way” and to bring “new confidence to most of the Lord’s family” (1:12-14).

Though Paul desired for his own sake to go to be with God, he was able to be content with however long he lived because it meant he still had chances to benefit others in the Lord (1:21-27).

In the point that may be most astounding to me in this chapter, Paul is able to rejoice even in the preaching of false teachers seeking only power and money because at least the good news about Jesus is being spread (1:18).  That’s a new way to view the Jim Bakkers and Ted Haggards that make Christianity seem so corrupt.

Secret To Contentment #1:  Anchor your confidence in God’s ability to orchestrate the future in the way He knows is best rather than your own ability and foresight, and joy and peace can be much more constant.  God is in control and it’s going to be okay.

What did you learn today?

Categories: Philippians | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Philippians 1: God Is in Control

  1. I love it how Paul preaches freedom and yet in prison. in prison for preaching true freedom.
    and most of all, he was contented whether he is in prison or not, does not really matter.

    amazing grace – such kind of freedom we receive

    – grace and peace

  2. Julie Chester

    Your “Secret To Contentment #1” was a blessing to me today. Thanks

    • I am glad it was. It is also a message I need to hear today in a strong way. Actually I need it everyday! Blessings!

  3. Trent Williamson

    I think your “Secret to Contentment #1” is essentially the definition of JOY isn’t it? There is a significant difference between happiness (which tends to ebb and flow with circumstance) and true JOY which is resting in God’s control when I have none! Thanks Jason!

    • I think you are right. I have used joy and happiness somewhat as synonyms in this series but you are right about the difference. So glad it doesn’t rest on me, at least not the power part. I guess the perspective part still does.

  4. Eddy Efaw

    I learned that I need to be more concerned with WHO people are preaching than HOW they are preaching. I often time fill in people’s motives for them and negate their message in my mind. Paul didn’t do this. I need to change my thinking in this same way.

  5. “So this is my prayer: that your love will flourish and that you will not only love much but well. Learn to love appropriately. You need to use your head and test your feelings so that your love is sincere and intelligent, not sentimental gush. Live a lover’s life, circumspect and exemplary, a life Jesus will be proud of: bountiful in fruits from the soul, making Jesus Christ attractive to all, getting everyone involved in the glory and praise of God.”

    Now that is a great prayer!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

