Ephesians 6: Doing Battle

Let’s try something visual today.

What does it mean to do battle for God?  Which of the following pictures best depicts how you would envision it?  There are a lot of different, even conflicting, ideas that a question like that conjures up.  Paul gives his thoughts on the question from Ephesians 6 at the end.

Be strong in the Lord, and in the strength of his power.  Put on God’s complete armor. . . . the warfare we are engaged in, you see, isn’t against flesh and blood.  It’s against the leaders, against the authorities, against the powers that rule the world in this dark age, against the wicked spiritual elements in heavenly places.  For this reason, you must take up God’s complete armor.  Then, when wickedness grabs its moment, you’ll be able to withstand, to do what needs to be done, and still be on your feet when it’s all over.  So stand firm! . . . Pray on every occasion. . . . You’ll need to keep awake and alert for this. . . . Please pray that God will give me his words to speak when I open my mouth, so that I can make known, loud and clear, the secret truth of the gospel. . . . Pray that I may announce it boldly. (6:10-14a, 18-20)

trusting ~ standing ~ praying ~ speaking

Categories: Ephesians | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Ephesians 6: Doing Battle

  1. Trent Williamson

    In order to stand it is necessary to be willing to kneel first! It is on our knees where we gain the strength to stand!!!!

    • So absolutely true! I am being reminded a lot right now that if we are not willing to kneel on our own, life has a way of putting us on our knees anyway.

      • Pat

        So true. Just when I think “I” am standing on my own, life shows me that my priorities are wrong. I can only stand when I am in His arms. And I only get there when I humble myself before God.

        Most of the pictures do not show real battle for God. It’s not in the fighting and the confronting physically. The ones showing prayer show the true battle for God. I must let God help me overcome self before I can go out and do battle.

        To me the first battle is developing the fruit of the Spirit in my life. (Gal. 5) With these “weapons” I can then go out and help, teach, talk, visit, relieve, encourage, interact, feed, clothe, whatever else comes my way, and do it in His name.

  2. I love the way you tie in the fruit of the Spirit. You are so right! Nice point!

  3. “Fathers, don’t exasperate your children by coming down hard on them. Take them by the hand and lead them in the way of the Master.” Enough said!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

