Matthew 11: The Lighter Way

Are you having a real struggle?  Come to me!  Are you carrying a big load on your back?  Come to me — I’ll give you a rest!  Pick up my yoke and put it on; take lessons from me!  My heart is gentle, not arrogant.  You’ll find the rest you deeply need.  My yoke is easy to wear; my load is easy to bear. (11:28-30)

Today’s choice of passage is entirely emotional.  I need to hear these words.  I need to meditate on them all day long.  Some days I don’t believe the way of Jesus is easier, but he says it is.  Will I believe that?  Some times I can think of a million other things to help me find rest, long before I go to Jesus.  Will I go to him first?  Praise God in faith that he is gentle and offers us something better and lighter and more blessed.

Have you ever felt this way?

Categories: Matthew | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Matthew 11: The Lighter Way

  1. Not much has changed in three years. Man, do I need to hear these words. More so I need to experience this.

    “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion?” Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

  2. Eddy

    This same section hit me yesterday as well. “…you’ll recover your life…take a real rest…” I tend to hang my hat on the work I do for God and say that the busyness I experience is because I’m a good follower of God (doing all the things no one else wants to do). Sounds like the “older brother” when I type it out like that. But I wonder if feeling really rested is as much a sign of my connection with God as being worn out is? Seems like it based on this text.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

