Acts 18: Working for the Kingdom

Everybody’s working for the weekend/everybody wants a little romance/everbody’s goin’ off the deep end/everybody needs a second chance. 

Remember those lyrics from the ’80s Canadian rock group Loverboy?  Are we going through the week working for the weekend?

Actually, I think Paul was, at least when he was in Corinth.

Paul comes to Corinth and meets up with Aquila and Priscilla, two tentmakers from Rome. Paul quickly takes up with them because this is his trade too.  Paul spends eighteen months in Corinth (18:11) and it appears he supported himself (along with some support from the Thessalonians) during that time making tents.

Then on “every sabbath” Paul would go to the synagogue to share with “great energy” the gospel that “the messiah really was Jesus” (18:4-5).  Paul strikes me as the kind of person who is always talking about Jesus no matter where he is, but it seems that for the better part of a year and a half Paul did most of his ministry on the weekend.  Paul did the best he could and he worked hard at ministry with the time he had.

What struck me today is that Paul didn’t feel bad about the tent-making work he had to do the other six days in order to make his sabbath ministry possible.  Maybe sometimes we feel like our jobs take away from the time we could spend doing ministry in a world that needs Jesus.  Interestingly, Paul himself didn’t feel that way.

In 2 Corinthians 11:7-9, a snippet from a letter written to the very church we are reading about in this section, Paul talks about how his tent-making work was part of his mission, not separate from it.  It didn’t subtract from his ministry, it enabled it.  Therefore, he was working as hard for the Kingdom each day when he made tents as he did on the Sabbaths sharing the gospel.

This might give us an even greater appreciation for the work God has blessed us with, regardless of occupation.

What did you see anew in this chapter? 

Categories: Acts | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Acts 18: Working for the Kingdom

  1. Pat

    Being able to work and having work is a blessing that we (I) often forget about in the busy-ness of the work week. I try to remember each day that the way I do my work is an expression of the faith I have and I offer my work to my Father as worship.

  2. “‘You have no idea how many people I have on my side in this city.’ That was all he [Paul] needed to stick it out. He stayed another year and a half, faithfully teaching the Word of God to the Corinthians.”

    That is a well-timed word from God today. I’ve been feeling like the kingdom of God is greatly outnumbered and losing ground. I am tired and discouraged of the “good fight.” But there is solace in knowing God knows the truth about the situation and that my perceptions are faulty. Of course, I know that fact in my head. It is my heart that is the issue. Thanks, God!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

